“Less” Is the New “More”

less_is_more-300x225

By JP Chartier

Voluntary Simplification is a growing trend populated by those who have said ENOUGH! Enough of the debt, enough of the accumulation of uneeded stuff, enough of the insanity of it all. They want an escape from the excesses that the modern world so readily provides. They have had enough of the clutter, enough of the debt, enough of all the distractions and the stress that come from the accumulation of so much unecessary stuff.

These “enlightened” folks have realized a very important truth – more shit doesn’t equal more happiness. In fact, they have found quite the opposite is true –  less things in their life to worry about means more time to spend on what’s really important.

This growing trend isn’t necessarily born out of poverty, it comes from the understanding that more and more “stuff” will not put a smile on your face like the feeling of freedom you get by getting rid of it.

Something interesting has happened to me over the years, I have found that my desire to own less has become more valuable than actually owning less. In a society that promotes consumerism every chance it gets, the real battle for me was to remove myself from the incessant desire for more.

One of the wonderful side-effects of minimalism that I’ve noticed is APPRECIATION. My appreciation level for everything has increased exponentially. I have found that when I do eat an extravegant meal or go somewhere fancy, my appreciation level is much higher than it previously was.

Here are a few areas of your life that can be minimalized:

  1. Possessions
  2. Time commitments
  3. Debt
  4. Artificial ingredients/Processed foods
  5. Screen time
  6. Multitasking

I look at minimalism less about what I remove and more about what I add, like contentment and peace of mind. I came to the realization that my life is far too valuable to waste chasing possessions and I hope yours is too!

Have you reached your tipping point yet? Are you finding it hard to breathe from the weight of all your possessions?

If you answered yes, then come on over to the other side, the “Less Is The New More” side, and start enjoying what’s really important in your life.

 

 

9 thoughts on ““Less” Is the New “More”

  1. it’s so good to reorganize your priorities… so many of us work to buy more… but if we bought less we could free up the time to choose the real soul food in life – travel, time with friends and family, giving to others. i have found more joy through giving what i have (time, money, things) than i ever could through owning the next gadget or the fancy car. thanks for posting this!!

    • Wow! You should have written this article! Ask yourself this before purchasing something: “Is this a NEED or a WANT?” This always puts my purchases in perspective. Take care

  2. Another great post, JP!! Believe it or not, I have always been a very minimal person. Maybe that is what happens when you move to the other side of the world. I always think twice before I buy something and ask myself ‘Do I really need it?’

    And I agree with you! Stuff doesn’t make you happy. Happiness comes from within for those who choose to appreciate the simple things in life!

    C~~

    • Thank you for your comment. My realization that less is really more came when I was traveling the US and living in a 13′ camper. If it couldn’t fit in my camper or the bed of my truck, I didn’t keep it. After awhile, it became apparent to me that the things I gave up in the modern world were really like anchors holding me down and adding stress to my life! It was liberating to let go.

  3. Pingback: How Much Clutter Are You Holding Onto | Leap Like A Frog

Leave a Reply

