People Come and Go

By JP Chartier

sarasosa99@hotmail.com

Image

I find myself in a new city inhabited by total strangers, where every passing face is unrecognizable to me and every unfamiliar road leads to an unknown destination.

I recently relocated to a place foreign to me, away from family and friends and favorite restaurants.

This is actually a feeling I’m quite familiar with, and one I enjoy immensely. Much of my existence has been nomadic in nature, giving me my gypsy disposition. It all started when I was just a child – my family moved around a lot and it seemed I was always the ‘new kid’ in school.

So here I am, in this obscure, not too far-away land for a much needed change, I stand ready for the next chapter in my life. I await my destiny.

While I was contemplating the imminent changes soon to become my reality, I couldn’t help but think of all the people that have come and gone in my life throughout the years. Of the thousands of people that have crossed paths with mine, most were gone in the blink of an eye, never to be seen or heard from again. But there are a special few who have hung around for an extended stay, leaving an indelible mark on my life, forever changing it in one way or another. And I am grateful for each and every one of them!

Our Job is to Find Out Why

It’s important we understand that the people in our lives are there for a specific reason, and it’s up to us to make the effort to find out what that purpose is. Some people are there to teach us an important lesson we need to learn, another may be there to help assist you through a difficulty, or a troublesome time, another may be in your life to provide you with guidance or support, and there will be those that will simply be there to serve as a warning for you.

It’s our job to welcome the lesson, to accept and love the person giving it, and to use the lesson learned to benefit our lives in some important way. When we welcome and accept the lesson someone is attempting to give us, we facilitate in one another a higher state of consciousness.

A Technique to Help You Out

There is a technique I learned from the late Richard Carlson that I use to help me deal with people, especially difficult people – and it works beautifully.

I want you to imagine all the people in your world are enlightened masters and completely aware of what they’re doing to you, and they’re doing it only to teach you something valuable. Your task is to figure out what.

If you think about it a true master won’t simply come out and tell you what he thinks you should know. He’s far too wise to say, “Always be considerate,” and expect that it will make you a considerate person. Instead, he’ll devise a lesson that challenges you to see if you know what to do.

This technique is a very empowering way to manage whatever life throws your way. The reason it works so well is because your mentality changes from that of a know-it-all, to that of a student.

If you respond to the behavior of others with the mindset of a student instead of a know-it-all, you will develop the habit of self-inquiry that will gradually replace your habit of condemning others for being less aware than you are.

It’s as easy as changing your perspective from “Why are they doing this?” to “What are they attempting to teach me?”

Give it a try and see how you feel when you pretend everyone is enlightened but you Grasshopper!

4 thoughts on “People Come and Go

  1. Awesome again J.P. ,this is something I have been struggling with lately and in a process of letting some people go out of my life ,especially since my dad died. You’re life has given you great wisdom. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The People We Meet |

Leave a Reply

